14 Week Challenge: Week 4

Learn how to make 14 new meals from scratch

Bananas are probably some of my favorite fruit. Unfortunately, I don’t always get around to eating them before they go bad. So, I’ll usually freeze them and save them for a smoothie, but while I was happily pinning, I came across this recipe for banana oatmeal muffins.

Now, I pin A LOT of recipes on Pinterest, but I never make any of them. This time, I decided to finally make some dang muffins!

I had to go to the store to get all of the baking ingredients (you can see by the never-opened boxes), but now I really feel domestic. The recipe stated to use a blender.

This made me think back to when I was a little and my mom – an amazing baker – would just use a big mixing bowl and mix everything by hand. She would wear an apron, and by the end of the preparation, the apron was covered in flour. I thought of this and decided I should do the same.

Then I thought about it some more, and went back to the blender idea. After all, I didn’t want to leap toooo far into domestication. People might get the wrong idea.

I baked them for 20 minutes (according to recipe) and didn’t think to check on them. Nevertheless, I ended up with what we decided was “Banana Charcoal muffins,” not Banana Oatmeal muffins.

So, next time I will add some blueberries and watch the clock a little closer!

This recipe is courtesy of Keeping Up with the Joneses, an awesome blog about parenthood.

Leave a Reply

