California Dreamin

So, to gain some more inspiration and information, I started an e-class on starting/maintaining your craft business with Kelly Rae Roberts.

Since it’s all online, I can do it at my own speed and take what I want from it. When I woke up this morning, I started my math homework. Frustrated, I decided to put it down for a while and go back to my craft biz class, which is WAY more fun.

I’ve been having a lot of trouble sleeping lately, and I feel fatigued ALL day long. This definitely put a little pep in my step.

First of all, she asked us to write down a few things to get the ball rolling. First, what do I want out of this? What do I hope to accomplish?

Well, I want to make my online presence known! Every time I click on a crafty website, I think “this is exactly what I want to do” So, I want to find a way to do that. As a stay-at-home pregnant girlfriend, I want to find a way to supplement my boyfriend’s income with my art and my writing. That would be perfect…if I could stay home and be happy doing what I love while helping my family, I could not ask for more. I want to be successful on my own and I want to make my family PROUD.

To make my goals known, I’m listing them below. Yes, I know. More goals to follow. But I work best when I have solid goals. Otherwise, I will end up in my rocking chair watching TV.

Short term goals: start Etsy account, go through all the stuff in my craft closet AND actually use it. Make enough money to get through each month ($1000 would be good), start screen printing, make all my food and cleaning supplies from scratch, start blogging more, get daily traffic, get more involved with graphic design

Long term goals: maintain and update Etsy account, make a living crafting, start maternity clothing line, be the best mom EVER, create a good life for me and my family, get my AA degree and start the bachelor program

Who can I talk to about my creative biz dreams? I would have to say my boyfriend. While he is totally the logical one in the relationship, he understands that I am not and he listens to me and gives me the best advice he can. He never makes me feel like I can’t do something and he fully supports me.

Who is living their dreams? Who can I look up to? Jenny Roberts Woods. I freaking love her. When I was taking a Magazine Writing class, I had to do a profile on someone. I was telling my friend Shane Davis about this and he introduced me to his neighbor, Jenny. She started her own recycled baby clothing line while pregnant with her 2nd child and she kept up with it while being a full-time stay-at-home mom.

Her kids are so creative and they all seem very happy. That’s what I want for my family, for all of us to be happy and to be doing what we love.

There is only one thing stopping me: FEAR. I have the time and resources to do what I love, I just need to get over myself and my fears and make it happen.

Finally, I wrote a letter to myself. It’s something I will seal and will look at again in 6 months. I had to catch and stop myself from writing “hopefully.” I just said “you will.” Here’s a little blurb:

“as long as you have a happy, healthy and loving family, you will go far in life and you will never have to wonder if you’re successful….because you are!”

So, if this inspires you – and hopefully it does – I urge you to do the same. What you find out may surprise you.

Leave a Reply

