14 week challenge

I have noticed that in the last couple of weeks, my motivation has been at an all-time low. Every time I want to start something new, I look at my TV and decide it is way more entertaining. Before I know it, hours pass and my boyfriend is home. Aside from light cleaning, nothing I plan to do is accomplished.

On one of these lazy days, I watched “Julie and Julia,” a movie about a writer who was looking for some inspiration and found it in food writing. She channeled Julia Child and embarked on a 524 recipe in 365 days challenge, based off Child’s cookbook.

Watching this movie, I felt a push to do something like that. If I challenged myself to accomplish something, I would be more motivated to do it. Then, a lot of the stuff I planned to do would actually get done. The push finally turned into a shove when I was reading blogs and found a posting on a 52 week challenge, where the writer was to complete 52 crafts in 52 weeks.

Given that I am due in about 14 weeks, I did not want to commit to 52 weeks until I got down some kind of sleeping schedule. I hear that never does actually happen but I have high hopes. So for now, I will start a 14 week challenge, that will consist not only of crafts but also things I need to do to get ready for Cecilia’s arrival and personal challenges.

I’m going to post my list of activities to complete online as a source of motivation. Then, I will post updates through completion. I am not going in any specific order, it’s more based on what I have available to me at the time. Aside from any family emergencies (they have been frequent lately), if I don’t finish a challenge in the allotted time, I am banning myself from the television until I do.

So here we go:

1. learn how to make 14 new meals, from scratch (one per week)
2. prepare Cecilia’s room
3. start and finish 14 new art projects (one per week)
4. learn 14 new songs on the guitar (one per week)
5. go through clothes and donate what i don’t want
6. start a new yoga routine
7. make 14 new blog posts (one per week)
8. find a stay-at home job
9. start an etsy account
10. start a garden
11. learn to sew…by myself. Without my mom’s help
12. start christmas gifts
13. screenprint something
14. attend a new group, class

Ok, now that I have posted it online, it’s officially official. Time to get to work!

2 thoughts on “14 week challenge

  1. I like your challenge idea! But why leave your mom out of #11? That might lead to some great mother daughter time before she’s a Grammie! πŸ™‚ Just a thought.

  2. Oh no, she will be very involved πŸ™‚ She’s going to teach me, I just always have to wait until I’m at her house to sew and I want to be able to do it on my own

Leave a Reply

